State Employee Grant Program

WSAB Broadcaster of the Year Award

 << back to about WSAB   

Beginning in 1985, Washington broadcasters have recognized a colleague for excellence and commitment to service in his or her community and outstanding support of the industry. The honoree is selected by the WSAB Board of Directors from nominations submitted by radio and television broadcasters all across Washington. Any broadcaster who has made a significant and lasting contribution to Washington broadcasting by virtue of a singular achievement or continuing service on behalf of the industry shall be eligible to receive the WSAB Broadcaster of the Year Award. Nominations are normally solicited during the middle of the year. A nomination of a candidate should be supported by a written statement of the nominee's accomplishments.

Recipients of the WSAB Broadcaster of the Year Award

1985 Adrian DeVries KCLX-AM Colfax
1986 Wally Nelskog KIXI-AM/FM Seattle
1987 Burt Harrison WSU Pullman
1988 Jim Murphy Ogden Murphy Wallace Seattle
1989 Les Smith Alexander Broadcasting Bellevue
1990 John Behnke Fisher Broadcasting Company Seattle
1991 J. Birney Blair KHQ-TV Spokane
1992 Don Bennett KREW-AM/FM Sunnyside
1993 Pat Scott Fisher Broadcasting Company Seattle
1994 J. Shannon Sweatte KVI-AM/KPLZ-FM/KOMO-AM Seattle
1995 Bob Robertson The Voice of the Cougars Tacoma
1996 Harold Greenberg KMAS-AM Shelton
1997 Clay Freinwald Entercom Radio Group Seattle
1998 Professor Val Limburg Washington State University Pullman
1999 Dean Mitchell KONA-AM/FM Tri-Cities
2000 Darrell Blue KAPP-TV/KVEW-TV Yakima/ Tri-Cities
2001 Dick Pust KGY-AM/FM Olympia
2002 Edie Hillard Jones Radio Network Seattle
2003 Lon Lee KHQ-TV


2004 Dave Niehaus The Voice of the Mariners Seattle
2005 Ken Messer KIMA-TV/KEPR-TV Yakima/Tri-Cities

Copyright 2007 - WSAB - All Rights Reserved
Site designed and hosted by