Broadcaster of the Year

From 1985 to 2005, the Washington State Association of Broadcasters recognized a colleague for excellence and commitment to service in his or her community and outstanding support of the industry. The honoree was selected by the WSAB Board of Directors from nominations submitted by radio and television broadcasters all across Washington. Any broadcaster who made a significant and lasting contribution to Washington broadcasting by virtue of a singular achievement or continuing service on behalf of the industry was eligible to receive the WSAB Broadcaster of the Year Award.

1985 Adrian DeVries, KCLX-AM, Colfax

1986 Wally Nelskog, KIXI-AM/FM, Seattle

1987 Burt Harrison, WSU, Pullman

1988 Jim Murphy, Ogden Murphy Wallace, Seattle

1989 Les Smith, Alexander Broadcasting, Bellevue

1991 J. Birney Blair, KHQ-TV, Spokane

1992 Don Bennett, KREW-AM/FM, Sunnyside

1993 Pat Scott, Fisher Broadcasting Company, Seattle

1994 J. Shannon Sweatte, KVI-AM/KPLZ-FM/KOMO-AM, Seattle

1995 Bob Robertson, The Voice of the Cougars, Tacoma

1996 Harold Greenberg, KMAS-AM, Shelton

1997 Clay Freinwald, Entercom Radio Group, Seattle

1998 Professor Val Limburg, Washington State University, Pullman

1999 Dean Mitchell, KONA-AM/FM, Tri-Cities

2000 Darrell Blue, KAPP-TV/KVEW-TV, Yakima/ Tri-Cities

2001 Dick Pust, KGY-AM/FM, Olympia

2002 Edie Hillard, Jones Radio Network, Seattle

2003 Lon Lee, KHQ-TV, Spokane

2004 Dave Niehaus,The Voice of the Mariners, Seattle

2005 Ken Messer, KIMA-TV/KEPR-TV, Yakima/Tri-Cities